Select Language

Former Chets students include singers Louise Winter and Jon Christos, pianist Peter Donohoe, cellist Guy Johnston, violinist Jennifer Pike, conductor Daniel Harding, cellist Matthew Bailey and Jazz pianist Gwilym Simcock. 

Along with the long list of classical music successes, ex-Chets students include former Level 42 keyboard player Mike Lindup, actor Max Beesley, who achieved first recognition as percussionist and keyboard player with Jamiroqua, Take That and Robbie Williams and Roger Wright Controller at BBC Radio 3 and Director of The Proms!

Other notable alumni include:


Nicholas Ashton - Head of Keyboard, Napier University
Gary Cooper - International Harpsichordist, recording artist and conductor
Steven Devine - International Fortepianist, harpsichordist and conductor
Peter Donohoe - International Pianist, conductor and recording artist.
Richard Eggar - International Harpsichordist.
William Fong - International Pianist and Head of Keyboard at the Purcell School .
David Hill - Organist at Westminster Abbey and conductor.
Timothy Horton - Concert pianist.
Stephen Hough - International Pianist, Composer, author and multi-award winning recording artist.
Paul Lewis - International Pianist and Award Winning Recording Artist.
Viv MacLean – Concert pianist.
Robert Markham - Professor Birmingham Conservatoire.
Anna Markland - Winner of BBC Young Musician of the Year, concert pianist and professional singer.
Wayne Marshall - International Organist, Pianist conductor and recording artist.
Leon McCawley - International Pianist, Recording Artist and Professor at Royal College of Music.
Murray McLachlan - International pianist, recording artist and writer. Head of Keyboard at Chetham’s.
Matthew Schellhorn - International pianist, recording artist and Messiaen specialist.
Graham Scott - International Pianist and Head of School of Keyboard Studies at the Royal Northern College of Music.
Jonathan Scott - International Organist, Pianist and Recording Artist. Acclaimed duo with brother Thomas, also a former Chets student.
Gwilym Simcock - BBC New Generation Artist, international Jazz pianist and composer.
Ashley Wass - International Pianist, Recording Artist and Professor at Royal College of Music.
Andrew Wilde - International Pianist.
Cordelia Williams - Winner of Piano Section of BBC Young Musician of the Year 2006.
Sophie Yates - International harpsichordist and recording artist.


Richard Bamping - Principal Cello, Hong Kong Philharmonic.
Daniel Bell - Violin/Berlin Philharmonic/Guest Leader Scottish Chamber/BBC Philharmonic.
Simon Fryer - Cello, Vancouver Symphony Orchestra.
Paul Galbraith - Guitar Soloist.
Stephanie Gonley - Violin/Leader English Chamber Orchestra.
Guy Johnston - International Cellist, Winner of BBC Young Musician of the Year 2000.
Jennifer Pike - International Violinist, Winner of BBC Young Musician of the Year 2002.
Catherine Yates - Principal 2nd violin Hallé.


Rebekah Matthews – Karlsruhe.
Claire Gainford – Bassoon.
Emma Bullock – Oboe, Mahler Chamber Orchestra.
Katherine Bryan – Principal Flute, RSNO.
Joanna Patton - Clarinet, CBSO.
Lynsey Marsh – Principal Clarinet, Hallé.
Ursula Leveaux – Bassoon.
Katherine Spence – Clarinet, Galliard Ensemble.
Andrew Nicholson – Flute.
Adam Walker – Principal Flute, LPO.
Alex Jakeman – Flute, Bournemouth SO.
Anna Cooper – Cor Anglais, Liverpool PO.
Ellen Marsden – Oboe.
Tim Orpen – Co-Principal Clarinet, London Chamber Orchestra.
Robert Plaine – Clarinet, BBC NOW.
Steven Marsden – Principal Bassoon, WNO.
Sarah Burnett – Bassoon.
Ester Moors – Clarinet.
Ruth Dyson – Recorder.
Wissam Boustany – Flute soloist.
Janet Larsson – Flute, Scottish FI Trio, Freelance.
James Horan – Cor Anglais, BBC SSO.
Stella McCracken – Principal Oboe, BBC SSO.
Katherine Lacey – Bass Clarinet, RLPO.
Nichola Hunter – Flute, Northern Chamber Orchestra.
Emma Cunliffe – Bassoon, Early Years Educator.
Rosie Jenkins nee Hillier – Principal Oboe,  Northern Sinfonia.
Elaine Cox – Clarinet.
Steve McGee – Contra Bassoon, Hallé.


Brendan Ball - Co-Principal Trumpet, RLPO.
Angela Barnes - French horn, LSO.
Ryan Breen – Tuba, Tubalate and freelance.
Richard Brown - Principal Trombone, BBC Philharmonic.
Rob Burtenshaw - Sub-principal Trombone, Opera North.
Simon Chappell - Principal Bass Trombone, RLPO.
Simon Cowen – Principal Trombone, Liverpool PO and RNCM Tutor.
Ros Davies – Trombone, Hallé.
Phil Goodwin - Freelance Trombone and Chetham’s Tutor.
Adam Howard – Former Principal Trumpet, Johannesburg Philharmonic.
Simon Johnson – Principal Trombone, BBC SSO.
Edward Jones – Principal Trombone,  CBSO.
Katy Jones nee Pryce – Trombone, LSO.
Chris McShane – Tuba, BBC SSO.
Huw Morgan - Principal Trumpet, Scottish Opera
Rhys Owens - Principal Trumpet, RLPO.
Chris Parkes – French Horn, RPO.
Chris Poynton – French Horn, Royal Ballet.
Peter Smith – Tuba, Philharmonia.
David Thornton – Principal Euphonium Brighouse & Rastrick Brass Band, Former Principal Euphonium Black Dyke Brass Band, Former Musical Director Wingates Brass Band and Chetham’s Tutor.
John Thornton – French Horn, Northern Ballet.


Jim Hart – Vibraphone Soloist and Kit Player with John Dankworth Quartet.
Erika Ohman – Percussion, Hallé.
Neil Percy - Principal Percussion, LSO.
Dave Walsh – Freelance Kit Player and Chetham’s Tutor.
Stephen Whibley – Percussion, BBC Concert Orchestra.